Home Page


Welcome to Oakham C of E Primary and The Parks Schools

Governor page.


As a Hard Federation, both Oakham C of E Primary School and The Parks School share a Governing Body which meets each term.  The Governors are similar to directors in a business, and act as 'critical friends' to the Executive Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team.  Governors work with the Executive Headteacher on strategic and developmental issues, and on target setting, performance management and appraisal.  They visit the schools to meet members of the Senior Leadership Team and to carry out their responsibilities in terms of monitoring and providing oversight.  However, the Executive Headteacher alone is responsible for the day to day management of the schools. 


Minutes of Full Governing Body meetings and committee meetings are available, if required, in the school office.


If you have any comment for, or need to contact, the Governing Body please email: or leave a message at the school office.

Governors of Oakham Church of England Primary School and The Parks School

All governors are required annually to declare any interests they may have in relevant businesses or other educational establishments.  All information relating to this as well as details of all current governors can be found below.




Appointing body 

Date appointed 

Date of term end 

Alex Gregory Parks Parent Parental election 15/06/2017 14/06/2021
Caroline Vandoros Parent Parental election 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Diane Wensley Parent Parental election 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Jane Evans Staff Staff election 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Sharon Spencer Clerk Governing Body 2008/2009  

Louise Bushby


Staff election



Nick Cooper Co-opted Governing Body 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Mary Darlington Co-opted Governing Body 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Stephen Cox Executive Headteacher    24/08/2015 ex officio
Nicola Harries Co-opted Governing Body 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Caroline Abdul Rahim  Parks Parent Parental election 15/06/2017 14/06/2021
Kay Smith Teacher Staff election 04/11/2014 03/11/2018
Jim Telling Co-opted Governing Body 12/06/2017 11/06/2021
Caroline Johnston Parent Parental election 08/11/2013 07/11/2017
Marilyn Murray Diocese Diocese 04/04/2016 03/04/2020
Tor Clark Co-opted Governing Body 19/11/2015 18/11/2019
Ben Searle Parent Parental election 04/10/2016 03/10/2020
Stewart Needham Parent Parental Election 29/01/2018 28/01/2022


Declaration of interests and further relevant information.


  • Mary Darlington is the manager of The Ark Nursery.
  • There are no other relevant business interests for our governors to declare.
  • None of our governors have declared that they have any extra governing roles in other schools.


Committee Structure

Our Governing Body uses a committee structure to undertake our monitoring and evaluation role.  The membership and terms of reference of committees are reviewed annually.  In November 2015 it was agreed to revise the structure and reduce the number of committees from six to three.  From January 2016 the committees are: Provisions, Resources and Pay Review.


Some of our committees are given delegated powers to make decisions that do not require approval from the full Governing Body.  In addition, like many governing bodies, we sometimes form working groups to focus on specific problems or issues.


 Provisions Committee 

  • Outcomes
  • Safeguarding
  • Health & Safety

 Resources Committee 

  • Finance
  • Personnel


 Pay Review Committee 




Nicola Harries

Jane Evans

Caroline Johnstone

Tor Clark

Barbara Clemence






Jim Telling

Caroline Abdul Rahim

Louise Bushby

Mary Darlington

Nicola Harries

Diane Wensley

Ben Searle




Nicola Harries

Diane Wensley

Mary Darlington








The Governing Body is committed to safeguarding and promoting the welfare of children and young people. We expect all staff, volunteers and visitors to share that commitment.


If you are interested in becoming a school governor and would like to know more about the role please contact any of the Governors, or the school office.